Wednesday, February 2, 2011

New Young Widows Track

 OK, this has been out for a few weeks now, but I haven't had a chance to let it marinade.

I love Louisville's Young Widows. They're austere, noisy yet unfussy, and completely reminiscent of the best AmRep fuckfest you've never heard. And it's been way too long since 2008's Old Wounds. So I'm thrilled that they've released "Future Heart," the first song from their forthcoming album, In and Out of Youth and Lightness.

Featuring a fuller intonation than their prior release (half of which was recorded live at gigs), "Future Heart" starts off with a lush urgency before reverting back to Young Widows' stark, stripped-down sound. And then there's their trademark percussion-only bridge—when all other instruments drop out. Is this the musical version of using negative space the way an artist would? Maybe; and they've mastered it. Listen for yourself right here.

And buy In and Out of Youth and Lightness when it comes out on April 12 on Temporary Residence.

Here's the track listing:
1. Young Rivers
2. Future Heart
3. In and Out of Lightness
4. Lean on the Ghost
5. The Muted Man
6. Right in the End
7. Miss Tambourine Wrist
8. White Golden Rings
9. In and Out of Youth

Baby's Got the Bends